Snapshot 3: Saying Yes

Bernarda e Hijas, photo by Alicia Lueras Maldonado

I had just set the timer on my iPhone for the fifteen-minute break I allow myself after forty-five minutes of work, time to heat water for green tea (or give in to coffee which just works better some mornings). Rehearsals were set to begin for “La Casa de Bernarda Alba,” and I was already bracing myself for what would be an intense rehearsal schedule, breathing deeply, thinking through self-care strategies: not turning on my laptop after rehearsal, drinking lots of water, going to Bhava’s $6 yoga hour with Pam at least once a week to keep from hurting my back while playing a woman with a twisted spine. I had promised myself I would have a better attitude with this show than with the last few. I love theatre. I love acting and directing. But taking on a play is like taking on a part-time job (unpaid in most cases), and after spending most of 2011 planning a wedding, what I really wanted was to bask in this new phase of life with Henry.

But I know better. We bask in well-planned spurts: an overnight to T or C here, a massage there, a long walk in the bosque, cooking together on Sunday night.

And then there was “The House of the Spirits,” a story I love, with a strong cast and sensitive director. I started rehearsals the day after we returned from our honeymoon. And after that there was “The White World,” bringing the vision of a young woman with autism to the stage. And then there was “Río de Lágrimas” with Las Meganenas, my comadre circle. Somewhere in there, an email arrived from Salomé Martinez-Lutz, inviting a handful of my favorite actors and me to be part of “La Casa de Bernarda Alba.” Yes. The answer is yes.

And then Liz calls as I’m pouring hot water over my tea leaves. She’s directing “Bless Me, Última.”

“I know you’re doing Bernarda Alba. I’m already working around that schedule for two other cast members.” One night only, October 19. “I’d love for you to play Última.”

Yes. The answer is yes.

Published in: on September 28, 2012 at 8:38 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://michelleotero.wordpress.com/2012/09/28/snapshot-3-saying-yes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. So you’re an actor who’s a fine writer AND a writer who’s a fine actor!


Leave a Reply

Jennifer Givhan, Poet & Novelist

Landscape with Headless Mama

Anel I. Flores

Tejana, chicana, lesbiana, writer and artist

Demetria Martinez: Secrets of Joy

Author, Activist and Creativity Coach

marydudley's Blog

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Stepping into Magic: an actor's journey...

"Be not afraid of greatness: some are born great, some achieve greatness and some have greatness thrust upon them" ~William Shakespeare

Vessel

a person regarded as a holder or receiver of something, esp. something nonmaterial

