Catching Up

I know I said we’d meet back here on Tuesday, August 14. It’s mid-September. Geez. How did this happen?

There’s so much I want to write about today—the 40th bday reunion with good college friends, my trek through Harvard Yard, preparing for the role of the hunchback sister in “La Casa de Bernarda Alba,” racing to send out thank you cards before our first anniversary, starting rehearsals for “Bless Me, Última” (I am Última!), the upcoming Alzheimer’s Poetry Project workshop in Seoul (South Korea, baby!), helping P. and K. with homework, needing a yard sale, taking care of business, drinking coffee, doing yoga, the ‘hood, short story ideas, my book, coordinating a New Mexico photo shoot, hiking Tent Rocks, trusting, pruning, killing the plants on my windowsill, getting paid to be myself, the election, Catherine Parra Dix’s new blog, Jesus, mental illness, drogas, boys, the land, this place, what will become of us.

My thoughts are tripping over themselves, racing to reach my fingertips. It’s paralyzing. (Just writing that list took forty-five minutes.) So I have decided to spend the next several days dropping in, writing snapshots, three to five hundred words at a time, until I can once again breathe deeply and settle back in to a weekly routine.

Tomorrow: Snapshot 1—Harvard Yard

Published in: on September 19, 2012 at 1:14 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://michelleotero.wordpress.com/2012/09/19/catching-up/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Looking forward to more….abrazos desde Oaxaca, amiga. Namaste.

    • Querida, te extraño. Te mando un abrazo. Salúdame a Luzma y a Oaxaca.

  2. always a pleasure to catch up with you! Seoul? How cool is that! ox peace sister

  3. I love it! I totally feel your pain in regard to the ungodly amount of subject matter and the total lack of time to discuss it all. And yet I can’t wait to hear more from you, Amiga!

    P.S. Thanks for the shout-out! 🙂

  4. Wish I could go to South Korea with you! You are one busy woman. Love to you.


Leave a Reply

Jennifer Givhan, Poet & Novelist

Landscape with Headless Mama

Anel I. Flores

Tejana, chicana, lesbiana, writer and artist

Demetria Martinez: Secrets of Joy

Author, Activist and Creativity Coach

marydudley's Blog

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Stepping into Magic: an actor's journey...

"Be not afraid of greatness: some are born great, some achieve greatness and some have greatness thrust upon them" ~William Shakespeare

Vessel

a person regarded as a holder or receiver of something, esp. something nonmaterial

