Unbridled

First Dance

Before marrying Henry last Saturday, I took on planning and preparing for our wedding as I would a major creative project. I bought a special journal for jotting down ideas, taking notes, writing task lists, and recording my thoughts and feelings about the wedding and marriage. The journal has a pocket on the inside back cover where I kept business cards from vendors and color swatches (which we gathered from Home Depot’s paint department only after many blank stares in response to describing our colors as “the red of the chile ristra against an adobe wall and the yellow of cottonwood leaves in the fall”).

Wedding Journal

Before Henry and I got engaged in January of this year, I thought a lot about marrying him, about committing to loving each other over a lifetime. I thought about our wedding and how beautiful it would be to bring together our favorite people to celebrate this passage in our lives.

Just Married, photo by Marla Painter

Before Henry and I met, I thought about being married someday. I wondered if and how and when I would be ready. And then, once I felt ready, I wondered if and how and when I would find someone. Not just anyone, but someone honest and kind, wise and compassionate, someone solid, funny, and maybe tall.

And now honest-kind-wise-compassionate-solid-funny-tall-and-so-much-more Henry and I are married. No more wondering. No more wedding journal. And as I contemplate life post-wedding, all I can think of is that scene in the final minutes of “The Princess Bride” just before Wesley and Inigo jump out the castle window to their white horses. Inigo Montoya has finally killed the six-fingered man who slaughtered his father, and he confesses to Wesley, “You know, it’s very strange. I have been in the revenge business so long, now that it’s over, I don’t know what to do with the rest of my life.”

A big chunk of my time and energy has been cut loose. I can do anything. But what I really want to do is something.

Next Week: Unbridled, Part II

Published in: on October 11, 2011 at 11:18 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://michelleotero.wordpress.com/2011/10/11/unbridled/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Enjoy the journey and amor eterno…

  2. What a lovely couple! Felicidades and may you have a lifetime of happiness that will erase the bumps that come along the way. God bless you.

  3. OMG! You look so beautiful and so happy!!!! And I am sitting here in tears as I look at both of you, and my heart rejoices for each of you. Much Love my dear friend.


Leave a Reply

Jennifer Givhan, Poet & Novelist

Landscape with Headless Mama

Anel I. Flores

Tejana, chicana, lesbiana, writer and artist

Demetria Martinez: Secrets of Joy

Author, Activist and Creativity Coach

marydudley's Blog

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Stepping into Magic: an actor's journey...

"Be not afraid of greatness: some are born great, some achieve greatness and some have greatness thrust upon them" ~William Shakespeare

Vessel

a person regarded as a holder or receiver of something, esp. something nonmaterial

