Bootcamp, Part II: Something Else

Continued from Wednesday, August 10 post

I could always be doing something else.

Yesterday, as I dipped a bucket into the kids’ pool and emptied it over the tomato plants in the garden, I thought of the clean and folded laundry that had been sitting in a basket on our bedroom floor since the previous afternoon and how I should put it away before the kids came back from their mom’s house, or how maybe it would be better to put it away once they were home, since I didn’t really need quiet or solitude to put socks and underwear in dresser drawers.

I eat a lot of meals with my latest library book, and when my plate is cleared, I can’t remember how the food tasted or what I read.

It’s hard to be anywhere when my mind believes it should be working on bigger and better things or at least slashing through a list of mundane tasks.

Day one of Wellness Bootcamp, our instructor Sarah closed by passing around a pint of strawberries and a plate of sliced watermelon.* Our only job was to practice mindful eating, to really see and smell and taste the strawberry or watermelon, without talking or walking around or reading or even thinking about anything but the piece of fruit in our mouths. Three weeks later, I still remember biting into the strawberry, the spray of juice on my tongue, a seed ground between my teeth and swallowed. I don’t remember anything else in the room, not the other bootcampers mindfully eating around the circle, not the traffic on Central, just that strawberry. It was somethin’ else.

*Lest you think Wellness Bootcamp is for wimps, the passing of food followed an intense yoga, abs and cardio workout, the memory of which still makes my calves and quads ache.

Next Week: Bootcamp, Part III: Something More

Published in: on August 16, 2011 at 6:12 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://michelleotero.wordpress.com/2011/08/16/bootcamp-part-ii-something-else/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Jennifer Givhan, Poet & Novelist

Landscape with Headless Mama

Anel I. Flores

Tejana, chicana, lesbiana, writer and artist

Demetria Martinez: Secrets of Joy

Author, Activist and Creativity Coach

marydudley's Blog

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Stepping into Magic: an actor's journey...

"Be not afraid of greatness: some are born great, some achieve greatness and some have greatness thrust upon them" ~William Shakespeare

Vessel

a person regarded as a holder or receiver of something, esp. something nonmaterial

