Enough, Part III: Full of Grace

Continued from Tuesday, July 26 post

When La Virgen says, “It ain’t about that,” she is asking me to question my assumptions.

What if I assumed I was good enough? What if I believed I deserved to lie on the couch at the end of a long day and watch Grey’s Anatomy on Netflix? What if I believed myself worthy of this fellowship at the National Hispanic Cultural Center?

One of my favorite Saturday Night Live sketches was the mock self-help show, “Daily Affirmations with Stuart Smalley.” Each week, Stuart, in his pale yellow polo and powder blue cardigan sweater, guided his special guest to look with him in the mirror and repeat, “I’m good enough, I’m smart enough, and doggone it, people like me.”

But it ain’t about that either.

It ain’t about what I deserve, what I’ve earned, about doing or being enough. What does anyone really deserve? Maybe it’s time to stop thinking about what I do or don’t deserve, what I have or haven’t earned, or whether or not I am good enough. Maybe it’s time to simply live, simply approach my life with a spirit of acceptance and a recognition of the power of grace.

That’s the experiment I’m running. Step One: Boot Camp.

Published in: on August 3, 2011 at 6:43 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://michelleotero.wordpress.com/2011/08/03/enough-part-iii-full-of-grace/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Awhile ago I concluded the reason we can take life’s gifts for granted is because t hey are–granted, that is. They’re gifts and our response? Gratitude. Much love.

  2. Michelle, very eloquently said. I agree!
    Love, Aunt Gloria

  3. Check out Radical Acceptance, by Tara Brach. Right up your alley, chica — HH

    Hey, do you only do internet media? Did you get my phone call?!!!

    xoxx HH

  4. I’m wishing you much success with your experiment and cheering you on. I’m running a similar experiment, so… I’ve got metaphorical candles lit and fingers crossed for both of us!

  5. Nice…acceptance is the key to peace. Thank you for reminding me.


Leave a Reply

Jennifer Givhan, Poet & Novelist

Landscape with Headless Mama

Anel I. Flores

Tejana, chicana, lesbiana, writer and artist

Demetria Martinez: Secrets of Joy

Author, Activist and Creativity Coach

marydudley's Blog

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Stepping into Magic: an actor's journey...

"Be not afraid of greatness: some are born great, some achieve greatness and some have greatness thrust upon them" ~William Shakespeare

Vessel

a person regarded as a holder or receiver of something, esp. something nonmaterial

