Vessel

When I started this blog almost a year ago (“Vessel” celebrates its one year birthday on April 20!), I thought I would write about writing and life. I thought I would write about home, family, faith, community, work. I knew I would write about my book-in-progress, Vessels, though I had no idea how since I wasn’t actually writing the book.

It’s taken the past forty-nine posts for me to realize that “Vessel” is a vessel, a container for my thoughts and reflections, a craft that carries me from week to week and allows me to stop along the way to observe and to pick up fellow travelers.

The stories and those of my family and community flow through these posts, connecting us.

I’ve written about the fire, my grandparents, El Otro Lado, chocolate, Oaxaca, love. I’ve written about Vessels and will continue to write about it as my relationship to the book shifts and deepens. The past two weeks I’ve written about politics because I am dismayed at the direction our state and country are taking, at how corporations have so effectively taken over our political system that throngs of good, hard-working people are actually fighting on behalf of the wealthiest individuals and corporations in the world.

I love the bar scene in Good Will Hunting when Matt Damon’s working class character smacks down the stereotypical Harvard guy (he’s even wearing a v-neck sweater over a striped Oxford shirt) and have fantasized about knowing so much that I too could crush my intellectual opponent with an arsenal of facts and figures.

Once the fantasy passes, what interests me more than winning or being right is engaging in honest and respectful dialogue.

There’s something fundamentally dishonest about lawmakers who blame government employees and entitlement programs for emptying state and federal coffers but turn a blind eye to corporations like General Electric, which made $14.2 billion in profits last year, but paid nothing in federal taxes (New York Times).

There is something dishonest about a governor who says that enabling undocumented immigrants to obtain New Mexico driver’s licenses is dangerous. Governor Martinez, please explain to me how having a higher percentage of licensed and insured drivers on our roads makes us less safe. Please explain how getting in an accident with an unlicensed and uninsured motorist protects me.

For the last several weeks, I’ve wanted to write a graduate thesis on taxes, immigration, unions, and many other things. I wish I had more time. I don’t. So this is what I offer, a vessel.

Published in: on April 5, 2011 at 12:30 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://michelleotero.wordpress.com/2011/04/05/vessel/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You wrote this post on April 5th, which is my Kyra’s birthday. And you started the blog on April 20th, which is my Emma’s birthday… Granted, I have a bajillion kids and were liable to land on any one of their birthdays, but I take all this as a sign that this blog is good juju. Long live your blog, my friend, and the wonderful insights you evoke!

    • Gracias, querida amiga. And happy birthday to your sweet girls.

  2. I’m so glad I found your blog! And I’m so happy to hear about your process. I love knowing there’s a kindred soul struggling through writing only 3 doors away from me. I look forward to reading you more!

    I quickly scanned through your posts but didn’t find any info on what your book in progress Vessel. Any particular post you recommend?

    • Bienvenida, Raquel! It’s so encouraging for me to know that you are writing and making music just up the street!
      To read about my book project, visit the October 26 post. If you’d like to read excerpts of the book, begin with my November 9 post.


Leave a Reply

Jennifer Givhan, Poet & Novelist

Landscape with Headless Mama

Anel I. Flores

Tejana, chicana, lesbiana, writer and artist

Demetria Martinez: Secrets of Joy

Author, Activist and Creativity Coach

marydudley's Blog

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Stepping into Magic: an actor's journey...

"Be not afraid of greatness: some are born great, some achieve greatness and some have greatness thrust upon them" ~William Shakespeare

Vessel

a person regarded as a holder or receiver of something, esp. something nonmaterial

